The fast facts
- Lion's mane is a mushroom sold for attention and memory, and for a healthy adult the evidence is short and specific. In the one pilot in healthy adults — 41 people aged 18 to 45, 1.8 g a day for 28 days — Stroop performance, a test of attention under interference, was faster an hour after a single dose, while stress showed only a non-significant trend. The longer 16-week trial was in older adults with a diagnosed condition, so its result does not read across to a healthy adult. No trial in healthy adults has yet shown a lasting change in memory.
- The number on the front tells you least. "Lion's Mane 1,000 mg" can mean an extract of the mushroom itself, or mycelium grown on rice or oats and weighed with the grain — both legal, only one checkable. The number that means something is the beta-glucan figure, in milligrams if the brand prints them or as a percentage floor if not, beside a stated part of the mushroom. "Polysaccharides" is not the same measurement, because starch is a polysaccharide too. And both trials used gram quantities of dry powder, so a 400 mg or 1,000 mg extract is a different measurement again.
- Five labels were read through the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database and priced from each brand's own page, then scored on five things a buyer can check before paying: the beta-glucan figure, the part of the mushroom and the extract ratio, what else is printed with an amount, the cost per serving, and how plainly the pack says what it is. Three of the five print a beta-glucan figure; two print none. First place goes to the label that prints the best one.

A quick look at the best lion's mane supplements
- Best overall, lion's mane on its own with beta-glucans printed as milligrams: Real Mushrooms Organic Lion's Mane Extract Capsules | Skip to review
- Best complete formula, the part, the percentage and four other actives all printed: Weal Focus | Skip to review
- Most complete single-mushroom pack, the part, the milligrams and the extract ratio: Gaia Herbs Lion's Mane Mushroom | Skip to review
- Plainest mycelium label, with no beta-glucan figure: Host Defense Lion's Mane | Skip to review
- Names its substrate outright, and one number covers three materials: Oregon's Wild Harvest Lion's Mane Capsules | Skip to review
What lion's mane does
Lion's mane is a mushroom, and the human evidence for it is thinner than the shelf implies: one small trial in older adults with diagnosed cognitive impairment, one pilot in healthy adults, both using gram quantities of dry powder, both set out in full under the research heading below. The case for any one bottle is on its label, and that is where this page starts.
Two bottles on the same shelf can both say "Lion's Mane 1,000 mg" and hold substantially different things. One may hold an extract of the mushroom itself. The other may hold mycelium grown on rice or oats, harvested with the grain attached and weighed together. Both statements are legal. Only one can be checked from the panel.
We read five label panels through the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database and checked each brand's own price and count. Where a label states nothing, we say so. The five factors and their weights are set out under How we chose. Read that way, Real Mushrooms comes first for printing the best beta-glucan figure in the field, Weal Focus second as the only complete formula, and the two mycelium products last — for reasons a buyer can check on the pack.
Our recommendation
The short answer, before the reasoning: Real Mushrooms Organic Lion's Mane Extract is the pick on this shelf — fruiting body only, with the beta-glucan percentage printed rather than implied. If you want that standard inside a formula that also covers the rest of a focus routine, Weal Focus is the one to read next.
The biggest number on the front is usually the least informative. Two of the three largest figures here belong to products whose material was grown on grain — brown rice and sorghum — and neither says how much of the total is grain. The most useful belongs to a product that prints 300 mg of beta-glucans and lets a buyer divide.
The label that prints the number that matters is the one to buy. On this shelf that is Real Mushrooms. It states fruiting body, 300 mg of beta-glucans per serving as milligrams, and zero starch or fillers, at $0.58 a serving. That is the first pick on the declared factors and the best value in the field. If you want the mushroom inside a complete focus formula rather than on its own, Weal Focus is second, and prints the part, the percentage and four other actives just as plainly.
#1 Best overall, lion's mane on its own with beta-glucans printed as milligrams

Organic Lion's Mane Extract Capsules
by Real Mushrooms
- Lion's mane: 1,000 mg fruiting-body extract per serving (2 capsules)
- Beta-glucans: 300 mg per serving, printed on the panel (30%)
- Fillers: zero starch or fillers stated; the part used is given on the product page
- Supply: 120 capsules · $0.58 per serving
*One-time price observed August 2026.
The Cognitive Review's verdict
9.0/10 desk score
- Beta-glucan figure
- 10
- Part and ratio
- 8.0
- Rest of the formula
- 8.0
- Cost per serving
- 10
- Plain words
- 8.5
First because it prints the number this page ranks everybody by, and prints it best: 300 mg of beta-glucans per serving, as milligrams, on the panel. Add fruiting body, zero fillers stated and the lowest cost per serving in the field, and there is nothing to take on trust except the part used, which sits on the product page rather than the panel. If the question is where to buy lion's mane on its own, this is the answer.
Pros
- The best-standardised label in this field. The panel prints beta-1,3-1,6-glucan at 300 mg per two capsules — a milligram figure a laboratory can check, not a marketing percentage
- Fruiting body rather than mycelium on grain, and zero starch or fillers stated
- $0.58 a serving for 1,000 mg of extract is the best value here
Cons
- The part used appears on the product page rather than on the facts panel itself
- Single-ingredient, so anything else has to be bought and taken separately
Product details: 1,000 mg fruiting-body extract with 300 mg beta-glucans per 2-capsule serving · 120 capsules · $35 · sold by Real Mushrooms.
#2 Best complete formula, the part, the percentage and four other actives all printed

Weal Focus
by Weal Supplements
- Lion's mane: 400 mg extract per serving (2 capsules), 100% fruiting body, beta-glucans ≥25%
- Also on the panel: alpha-GPC 300 mg, L-theanine 200 mg, zinc 15 mg, vitamin B12 500 mcg
- Supply: 60 capsules · 30 days
- Capsule: HPMC, no titanium dioxide
*$40 on subscription, $45 one-time; observed September 2026.
The Cognitive Review's verdict
8.6/10 desk score
- Beta-glucan figure
- 8.5
- Part and ratio
- 9.0
- Rest of the formula
- 10
- Cost per serving
- 5.5
- Plain words
- 9.5
Second overall, and first among formulas. It answers the three questions the category usually dodges — which part, what percentage, what else is in there — on the panel itself, and it is the only product here that pairs a stated lion's mane figure with four other printed actives. On lion's mane alone, Real Mushrooms is ahead: 300 mg printed as milligrams against a floor of 100 mg, at $0.58 a serving against $1.50. For a buyer who wants the mushroom inside a complete focus formula, this is the pick.
Pros
- States the part used (100% fruiting body) and a beta-glucan floor (≥25%) on the panel itself — one of three labels here that state a beta-glucan figure at all
- The only complete formula in the field: lion's mane sits alongside alpha-GPC, L-theanine, zinc and B12, each printed with its own amount
- No proprietary blend, HPMC capsule, no titanium dioxide
Cons
- The beta-glucan figure is a floor, not a count: at least 100 mg per serving (25% of 400 mg), where Real Mushrooms prints 300 mg
- Dearest per serving here at $1.50, though the serving carries four other actives
Product details: 400 mg fruiting-body lion's mane (≥25% beta-glucans) plus four named actives per 2-capsule serving · 60 capsules · 30-day supply · from $40 · sold by Weal Supplements.
#3 Most complete single-mushroom pack, the part, the milligrams and the extract ratio

Lion's Mane Mushroom
by Gaia Herbs
- Lion's mane: 450 mg fruiting-body extract per capsule, from 2.5 g of dry mushroom
- Beta-glucans: 83 mg per capsule stated (about 18%)
- Part used: "only fruiting body extracts", printed on the pack
- Supply: 40 capsules · 1 a day · $0.74 per serving
*One-time price observed August 2026.
The Cognitive Review's verdict
8.4/10 desk score
- Beta-glucan figure
- 8.0
- Part and ratio
- 10
- Rest of the formula
- 7.0
- Cost per serving
- 8.0
- Plain words
- 9.5
Third, and close behind. Gaia has done the hard part: named the part used, printed the beta-glucan milligrams, stated the extract ratio — the most complete single-mushroom pack in the field. That the figure it prints is modest counts against the product and for the label; the two below may be lower still, and nobody can tell. Third rather than second because 18% trails the 30% and the 25% floor above it, and because one ingredient is all you get.
Pros
- "Only fruiting body extracts" is printed on the pack, not buried in marketing copy
- Beta-glucans printed at 83 mg per capsule — the second label here to give a milligram figure
- The only pack that states the extract ratio: each 450 mg capsule from 2.5 g of dry mushroom
Cons
- 83 mg of 450 mg is roughly 18% beta-glucans, the lowest stated figure here — visible only because they printed it
- 40 capsules lasts under six weeks at one a day, at $0.74 a serving
Product details: 450 mg fruiting-body extract with 83 mg beta-glucans per capsule · 40 capsules · $30 · sold by Gaia Herbs.
#4 Plainest mycelium label, with no beta-glucan figure

Lion's Mane
by Host Defense Mushrooms
- Lion's mane: 1 g certified organic, fermented brown rice biomass per serving
- Part used: mycelium on brown rice; how much is mushroom is not stated
- Beta-glucans: not stated
- Supply: 60 capsules · $1.13 per serving
*One-time price observed August 2026.
The Cognitive Review's verdict
6.3/10 desk score
- Beta-glucan figure
- 4.0
- Part and ratio
- 6.5
- Rest of the formula
- 7.0
- Cost per serving
- 6.0
- Plain words
- 10
Fourth. The honesty is the strength and the substance the weakness. Host Defense earns full credit for the word "biomass", and none for a beta-glucan figure, because there is not one: without it there is no comparing that gram with any other gram here, and the number this page ranks everybody by is missing.
Pros
- The plainest label in the field: "certified organic, fermented brown rice biomass" says exactly what is in the capsule, where a rival could have written 1,000 mg and stopped
- Deep mycology credentials, a long stable product line, and one item under other ingredients
Cons
- The 1 g figure includes the rice the mycelium grew on; how much is mushroom is not stated
- No beta-glucan figure anywhere on the panel, at $1.13 a serving — the second dearest here, for one of the least characterised materials
Product details: 1 g mycelium-on-brown-rice biomass per serving · 60 capsules · $34 · sold by Host Defense Mushrooms.
#5 Names its substrate outright, and one number covers three materials

Lion's Mane Capsules
by Oregon's Wild Harvest
- Lion's mane: 1,000 mg per serving — mycelium, fruiting body and other parts, on organic sorghum
- Beta-glucans: not stated
- Other ingredients: "Nothing Else" beside the capsule shell
- Supply: 90 capsules · 2 capsules twice daily · $0.70 per serving, $1.39 a day
*One-time price observed August 2026.
The Cognitive Review's verdict
6.2/10 desk score
- Beta-glucan figure
- 4.0
- Part and ratio
- 5.0
- Rest of the formula
- 8.0
- Cost per serving
- 7.0
- Plain words
- 9.0
Fifth: an unusually candid label attached to an unusually vague specification. Naming the sorghum substrate is a real disclosure, and "Nothing Else" is the cleanest other-ingredients line here. But one milligram figure spanning mycelium, fruiting body and "other parts" is the definition of a number that compares to nothing, and there is no beta-glucan figure to rescue it.
Pros
- Names the substrate outright — organic sorghum — which almost nobody does
- Other ingredients reads "Nothing Else" beside the capsule shell, and it is accurate; $0.70 a serving
Cons
- "Mycelium, fruiting body & other parts" is one number covering three different materials, so the fruiting-body share is unknowable
- No beta-glucan figure
- Directions of two capsules twice daily burn through the 90-capsule bottle in about 22 days, at $1.39 a day
Product details: 1,000 mg mycelium, fruiting body and other parts on sorghum per serving · 90 capsules · $31 · sold by Oregon's Wild Harvest.
Comparing the best lion's mane supplements
| Product | Best for | Part used, as printed | Per serving | Beta-glucans | Observed price | Per serving |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Real Mushrooms | Best overall — lion's mane alone, beta-glucans in milligrams | Fruiting body, on the product page | 1,000 mg extract | 300 mg stated (30%) | $35 / 120 | $0.58 |
| Weal Focus | The complete formula — part, percentage and four other actives printed | 100% fruiting body | 400 mg extract | ≥25% stated | $45 / 60 | $1.50 |
| Gaia Herbs | Every number on the pack | Fruiting body only | 450 mg extract | 83 mg stated (18%) | $30 / 40 | $0.74 |
| Host Defense | The plainest mycelium label | Mycelium on brown rice | 1 g biomass | Not stated | $34 / 60 | $1.13 |
| Oregon's Wild Harvest | A named substrate | Mycelium, fruiting body & other parts, on sorghum | 1,000 mg | Not stated | $31 / 90 | $0.70 a serving; $1.39 a day at the printed directions |
Panels from the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, August 2026; prices read the same week. If one of these is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
How we chose the best lion's mane supplements
Chosen on one test: a reader holding the pack can check every factor without taking our word for it. Five factors, weighted, and the weights are printed here so the desk score can be checked too.
- Beta-glucan figure (30%): Is a beta-glucan figure printed at all, and as what — milligrams a laboratory can check, or a percentage floor? This is the one number in the category that means something, so it carries the most weight; the reason is explained after the comparison table.
- Part and ratio (20%): Which part of the organism is in the capsule — fruiting body, mycelium, or mycelium plus the grain it grew on — whether the panel says so, and whether it says how much dry mushroom went into each capsule.
- Rest of the formula (20%): What else is in the capsule, and whether each thing is printed with an amount. A formula that prints every active scores highest; a single-ingredient product scores on the honesty of its other-ingredients line.
- Cost per serving (15%): Arithmetic from the real price and the real count, at the directions printed on the pack. The lightest weight, because every product here costs between $0.58 and $1.50 a serving and the labels differ more than the prices do.
- Plain words (15%): Does the pack say in plain words what the powder is — mushroom, mycelium, grain — where a bigger number would have been easier to print?
The desk score is the weighted average of the five sub-scores on those weights, rounded to one decimal place, so it can be checked from the numbers on each card.
Why beta-glucans are the number that matters
Lion's mane labels commonly advertise "polysaccharides". Beta-glucans are polysaccharides — and so is starch. Mycelium grown on rice or oats carries that grain's starch into the powder, so a high polysaccharide figure can come from the substrate rather than the mushroom. A beta-glucan assay separates the two; a polysaccharide figure does not. A brand stating a beta-glucan percentage is making a claim a laboratory can check. A brand stating "polysaccharides", or nothing, is not.
What has actually been measured
The human evidence is thinner than the shelf implies, so here it is, precisely.
The most-cited trial is Mori and colleagues, Phytotherapy Research, 2009: 30 Japanese adults aged 50 to 80 with diagnosed cognitive impairment, randomised to lion's mane or placebo for 16 weeks at 3 g a day of dry powder. Scores rose at weeks 8, 12 and 16, and fell significantly four weeks after the supplement stopped. Thirty people, one site, a clinically selected group — a real result, and a small one.
In healthy adults the reference point is Docherty and colleagues, Nutrients, 2023: 41 adults aged 18 to 45 given 1.8 g a day for 28 days. Stroop performance was faster 60 minutes after a single dose; subjective stress showed a non-significant trend at 28 days. The authors call it a pilot and say the sample is small. In the same session word recall was significantly worse than placebo, so the one healthy-adult trial points both ways.
Both used gram quantities of powder. Extracts concentrate the material, so a 400 mg extract is not the same measurement. That is why the beta-glucan figure, not the total milligrams, is the honest basis for comparison.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between fruiting body and mycelium?
They are two parts of the same organism. The fruiting body is the mushroom itself; mycelium is grown on rice, oats or sorghum and is sometimes harvested with the grain attached and weighed together, so a milligram figure can include grain. Both can be sold as "Lion's Mane 1,000 mg" and both statements are legal. A label that states the part used can be checked — Gaia Herbs and Weal Focus print it on the panel, Real Mushrooms on its product page; one number covering "mycelium, fruiting body and other parts" cannot.
How much lion's mane did the trials use?
Gram quantities of dry powder, not extract. One trial gave 3 g a day for 16 weeks to 30 Japanese adults aged 50 to 80 with diagnosed cognitive impairment. The other gave 1.8 g a day for 28 days to 41 healthy adults aged 18 to 45: Stroop performance was faster 60 minutes after a single dose, and subjective stress showed a non-significant trend. Extracts concentrate the material, so a 400 mg or 1,000 mg extract is not the same measurement. That is why the beta-glucan figure, not the total milligrams, is the honest basis for comparison.
Why is the beta-glucan figure the one to look for, and what does "polysaccharides" hide?
Beta-glucans are polysaccharides, and so is starch. Mycelium grown on rice or oats carries that grain's starch into the powder, so a high polysaccharide figure can come from the substrate rather than the mushroom. A beta-glucan assay separates the two; a polysaccharide figure does not. A brand stating a beta-glucan percentage or milligram figure is making a claim a laboratory can check; a brand stating "polysaccharides", or nothing, is not. Three of the five panels here state one.
Why rank a single-ingredient extract above the only complete formula?
Because the beta-glucan figure carries the most weight, 30 of 100, and Real Mushrooms prints the best one in the field: 300 mg per two capsules, as milligrams, on the panel, at $0.58 a serving — the lowest here. Weal Focus is second on the declared factors and first among formulas: the part on the panel (100% fruiting body), a beta-glucan floor of 25%, and four other actives each printed with its amount. On lion's mane alone, a floor of at least 100 mg trails 300 mg printed, at $1.50 a serving against $0.58. The weights are set out under How we chose.
Updated August 9, 2026